Roll, Roll, Roll Your Oats..

FOODDISRUPTED.WORDPRESS.COM (2)

I wanted to make a quick post about my rediscovery of oats for breakfast. I have been looking for a low-fat, low-cholesterol (I can get carried away with the scrambled eggs), low-sugar alternative for breakfast that I won’t get sick of. I also wanted something with some protein in it. The last couple of weeks I’ve been making a bowl of cooked rolled oats (no… I don’t roll them myself. I’m not that special) with fresh fruit for breakfast and it hits the spot everytime!

I have been switching up the fruit that I use. Last week I used strawberries and this week it has been blueberries. I am thinking next week I’ll try sliced apples. But there’s always the option of bananas, raspberries, blackberries (especially in the summer, as they grow EVERYWHERE in this state), and… other fruits I have yet to think of. Mango? Mmm. Mangoooo…

Rolled oats cooked in riceย I also cook the oats in rice milk. I learned this neat little trick from my sister. The rice milk sweetens as it cooks, so it sweetens the oats too, but it also makes them creamier. Try it! You can also use soy milk (and I think regular milk? I don’t know.. (Did I ever mention I am a vegetarian/vegan-three-days-a-week? (No, I didn’t.. time for another post..))), but the soy milk tends to curdle and thicken if you aren’t careful.. so I just stick with rice milk.[/caption]

I have found lately too that I crave the oats in the morning. especially when I go for my walks.

What does your breakfast routine consist of?

What other ways have you cooked or prepared rolled oats?

I have also thought about soaking them overnight in rice milk.. but maybe I will save that for the summer, as I prefer having warm breakfasts in the winter.

Anyway. Happy oating.. I mean eating ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Roll, Roll, Roll Your Oats..

  1. This sounds like an easy and delicious option for a healthy breakfast! How do you cook oats in a rice cooker with rice milk? I’m curious to know your trick!

    Like

    1. It’s super easy and delicious! I just use plain rolled oats, usually bought in stock or in the large Quaker can, and I use rice milk in place of the required amount of water. I bring the rice milk to a boil, add the oats in, and then turn the burner down to medium-high. It usually takes the oats roughly 5 minutes to cook and during that time I wash and prep the fruit ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. I like my oats cooked in milk. There are some recipes for cooking them in the crockpot or soaking all night in the fridge with Greek yogurt. Have not tried but am interested. My normal workday breakfast is Greek yogurt, granola and some sort of protein. Low carbs and calories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mm, soaking them in yogurt sounds good! I would have to do a dairy-free alternative, but I think I will try this once summer rolls around. Thanks for the idea ๐Ÿ™‚ Your workday breakfast sounds yummy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

